“Whose Fare Share”

March 31,2013 9:00 am.
What follows was published on November 6, 2012. It follows something I wrote about TV news reports about Hurricane Sandy( Global weather in a global village). I am repeating it here because some of its tags from November,2012 keep reappearing in searches and reminding me that the Bloomberg articles mentioned in it are examples, at least in my mind, of news read from a script.

I once published a piece that I titled “Money meets money; money wins.” about how the winner of millionaire investor, Governor Romney’s and millionaire supported President Obama’s competition for president will be lots of money. The most recent confirmation of this crazy notion is (once a Democrat now a Republican) wealthy Mayor Bloomberg’s recent endorsement of Mr. Obama’s candidacy. Now way back on October 20, 2012 I think I was being prepared for this endorsement by a New York Times article entitled “Ever Bipartisan, Bloomberg Jabs Both Candidates” in which I read Mr. Bloomberg’s criticism of the President: ” ‘This business of ‘Well, they can afford it; they should pay their fair share?’ Who are you to say ‘Somebody else’s fair share?’ “and his admonishment of Romney” I do think that Romney’s business experience would be valuable, but I don’t know that running Bain Capital gives you the experience to run the country.”But less than two weeks and one hurricane later Mayor Bloomberg announces his support for Mr. Obama because he feels that Hurricane Sandy may be evidence of global warming which Mr. Obama is better equipped to manage than Mr. Romney, and not Mr. Obama’s most repeated rhetoric since he took office in 2008/09, which is that the rich should pay more in taxes (their “fair share”).

Leave a Reply

