Know Your Betters

I always vote regardless of what journalists and politicians have told me about the issues. Sometimes I might consciously or not be supporting some media inspired issue: mostly I just vote according to my personal prejudices, but I always vote. For me voting is a way of getting counted by political scientists whose time and livelihood depend on studying and knowing voter behaviour and the issues which I never know because the media rarely see real issues or talk about them enough for anyone to know they are a real concern. My best example of a real issue that is rarely discussed is impoverishment and the increasing distance between social classes in the developed world resulting from income disparity, an issue which even a New York Times writer complained of not being part of the U.S. presidential contest in 2012. And two extraordinary events took place in Canada without many Canadians knowledge: the demise of Canada’s Crown Corporations Petro Canada and Canadian National Railway.

In Metro Land’s January 9, 2014 Scarborough Mirror, a Tor star publication, an editorial about Toronto’s October 27,2014 municipal election tells people to learn the issues that their councillors speak to because the mayoralty position affects their own wards less directly than the councillors they may vote for. But the real issue that everyone who wants to vote knows without reading the Tor star editorial and which it ignores is the attempt to neutralize Toronto’s elected mayor by some 40 councillors, who’ve decided that they “know better” than those who elected them and so chose one of their own as mayor of Toronto.

