What-is-the problem?

January 15, 2015

Today I was reminded of how easy it is to misunderstand a television presentation: in this case a televised press conference about the recently released TDSB Review (Toronto District School Board Review) . Ontario’s minister of education and the person who did the Review said that there was a “culture of fear” among the staff at the TDSB office so pervasive that some senior staff when interviewed for the Review broke into tears. Some fearful of losing their job would not talk to the reviewer. This “culture of fear” as it was dubbed on the CP24 report that I watched seemed a result of staff so fearful of being monitored that some stopped using board communication facilities.

I located an online copy of this “Review of the Toronto District School Board Submitted to the Honourable Liz Sandals, Minister of Education January 15, 2015” and to my chagrin I learned that the Review suggested that the authority exercised by various ward trustees was likely contributing to this “culture” whereas what I erroneously picked up from television was that maybe the higher ups in the board office were ultimately the force behind the “culture of fear” through micro managing their staff even though the reviewer did say that the trustees should get out of the board office. After reading parts of the Review I now think I know what she meant.

This entry was posted in education, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.