Human Rights Versus National Law

Somebody the media knows like the many names that pop up on my CP24 all day news screen is very upset because the United States doesn’t want him. Somebody should tell him and anyone else whose lost their self-identity because they can’t get legally into the U.S.A. right now that nation states all used to each determine who could get into their country. Years ago the United States used to have laws that made it very difficult to work in the U.S. as a musician. And then they seemed to make it all but impossible.  Recently because of  terrorist worries they’ve made all of us, Canadians like me born in Canada to Canadian born parents go to the trouble of having to present passports to get over the U.S. Canada border that my family had been legally getting through for a few hours to spend a few pennies  since I was 8 or 9 years old.

For most of my adult life I’ve wanted to live there but I’d thought living and working in the U.S.A. legally required jumping too many hoops.  But even when my wife was forced to get a passport to attend a relative’s wedding in Buffalo a border town, that sometimes used to seem closer than some Canadian destinations, neither of us lost our self-esteem or got mad at President George Bush junior, or the U.S.A. .

